Liquid Spirit, Gregory Porter

The Grammy Award-winning American jazz singer-songwriter, Gregory Porter sets rich jazz vocals against exquisite arrangements. Porter’s third album Liquid Spirit won Best Jazz Vocal Album at the 2014 Grammys. Standout track: Hey Laura.

‘The Brooklyn-based singer with the rich baritone and the ever-present Kangol hat is on a mission to revive old-school musical values… Possessed of massive vocal power offset by a rich tone and delicate control, his interpretations flit between jazz and soul, with the finesse of the former and strength of the latter in equal measure.’ — MOJO

Inspired by the syrupy-voiced Nat King Cole, Porter’s blend of jazz, blues, gospel and soul comes from his roots in Bakersfield. An epicentre of country music, Bakersfield has a rich cultural mix that has infused the city with gospel, blues, rhythm and blues, jazz and soul. ‘I was singing that music of a bygone era with these old church members that my mother would associate with. And that still informs my music. Liquid Spirit is directly from that.’

Porter is rarely seen without his distinctive balaclava-style flat cap. He has referred to it as both a security blanket and his ‘jazz hat’. In a 2012 interview with he explained why he started wearing it: ‘I’ve had some surgery on my skin, so this has been my look for a little while and will continue to be for awhile longer.’

As well as a passion for music, Porter enjoys food, too: ‘I love cooking, and I love having friends over. I think of music in the same way I think about food, in the serving aspect – you put a plate of food in front of a friend and it feels good, they’re nourished,’ he says.

Liquid Spirit, Tracklist

  1. No Love Dying
  2. Liquid Spirit
  3. Lonesome Lover
  4. Water Under Bridges
  5. Hey Laura
  6. Musical Genocide
  7. Wolfcry
  8. Free
  9. Brown Grass
  10. Wind Song
  11. The ‘In’ Crowd
  12. Movin’
  13. When Love Was King
  14. I Fall In Love Too Easily
  15. Time Is Ticking
  16. Water Under Bridges